Your Google Business Profile: Adding a Manager or Owner

Table of Contents

If we’ve said it once, we’ve said it a dozen times. An optimized Google Business Profile can significantly boost your business. It is a dynamic snapshot that emphasizes your best attributes and allows people to quickly find, learn about and engage with your business.

It’s important that your Google Business Profile includes the 10 features outlined in this blog post. Regularly maintaining your profile is a necessary part of the process. To help with this, it may become necessary to add an additional owner or manager to your profile.

Below is a video discussing how to complete this update, followed by a written tutorial to accommodate each learning style. Hope it helps!

There are three Google Business Profile Roles:

  1. Primary Owner: This is the highest level of access. Whoever claims the listing is the primary owner unless they transfer ownership to someone else. 
  2. Owner: Profiles can have multiple owners. Owners can add or remove profiles, edit business details, and add or remove users.
  3. Manager: Profiles can have multiple managers. Managers can edit business details. However, they can’t add or remove users.

Adding an Owner or Manager Is Simple

1. Confirm you’re signed into the Google account associated with your Google Business Profile.

2. In the Google search menu, type in the name of your business or type “my business.” You can also check out this article from Google on finding your business.

3. Click the menu button, which is three vertical dots, to open the dropdown menu.

4. Select Business Profile Settings. When you click it, a pop-up window (see below) will show up.

5. Click on the option titled Managers.

6. Once the Manager menu opens, click the “Add” button.

7. Type in the email address of the person you’re adding. Here is where you’ll choose whether to make the person an owner or manager.

8. Click “Invite” and you’re all set!

One thing to note is that it can take up to seven days for a new manager or owner to have access to some of the features. During this time, they’ll receive an error message when they try to:

  • Delete or undelete a profile
  • Remove other owners or managers from a profile
  • Transfer primary ownership

If you’d like to learn more about why it’s important to have an optimized Google Business Profile, check out our blog post here. We can also help by doing a free online business scan to see where you’re at; sign up for your 30-minute session here.

Subscribe
To Our Newsletter

Get Updates And Learn From The Best

Do You Want To Boost Your Business?

Schedule Your 30-Minute Online Brand Review

Book Your Free 30-Minute Online Brand Assessment

Do You Want To Boost Your Business?

Schedule Your 30-Minute Online Brand Review